No, really – patient education that’s actually useful!

As I was lamenting in an earlier post the poorly- copied, half-heartedly presented written materials given to heart patients by the hospital, this blog post – Thank you Heart Sisters! – is excellent! A must read!

Heart Sisters

by Carolyn Thomas  ♥  @HeartSisters

I think I’ve seen just about every “healthy lifestyle” informational brochure out there. You’ve seen them, too:  Eat better! Lose Weight! Quit Smoking! Get More Exercise! BlahBlahBlah!  None that I’ve found so far, however, mention anything that we don’t already know. Behaviour change is notoriously challenging – otherwise we’d all be doing it already.  It seems to me that the issue is not so much about raising awareness of something that isn’t well understood (Really? Smoking is bad for me?) but more about presenting information in a way that seeks to somehow meaningfully interact with the reader.

In my eternal quest for good solid take-home resources to hand out to the audiences at my women’s heart health presentations, I happened upon one – at last! – that caught my eye.  It’s called Living Well, simply sub-titled “tips for health and happiness”.

View original post 1,718 more words

One thought on “No, really – patient education that’s actually useful!

Leave a Reply

